Without Pressure

A fifth place ribbon hangs proudly in my room- a shiny badge signifying the one time I didn’t come in last place during my middle school track career. The jury’s still out on whether this is because I actually came in fifth or whether the times in my heat got mixed up. Nonetheless, track was obviously not where I excelled. Each day, I’d squirm in dread as I feared the 4:00 practice after school. As other girls sprinted with pride, legs strong, I’d huff and puff in pointless circles, hating every second of forced torture. I’d watch those strong legs pump past me, letting inadequacy become my label.

Sometimes today I get a similar sense of inadequacy as I observe those around me. I should be funnier, like her, or more confident, like him.

 Yet the Lord’s love heals. When I dwell in His love, I’m reminded that I am enough. The gifts He’s poured upon me are enough to produce fruit, exactly where and when He needs it.

Suddenly, when I remove the pressure to do anything, be anything other than exactly who I was created to be, I experience freedom. And in that freedom, I grow and produce more that I ever could by dwelling in feelings of inadequacy.

Today, I enjoy running every day; something I never imagined possible back in sixth grade. The only difference is the absence of pressure for me to run any faster or further than I desire. Without pressure, I experience the freedom to enjoy myself exactly where I am.

Give up any idea that you need to be more. Dwell in the freedom that comes from simply allowing an outpouring of the Spirit to produce fruit through you. A “you” that is good enough, blessed enough, gifted enough.

“Now there are different gifts, but the same Spirit.”

“And there are different activities, but the same God is active.”

“A manifestation of the Spirit is given to each person to produce what is beneficial.”

{1 Co. 12:4-7}

One thought on “Without Pressure

  1. I don’t believe I know you at all, but I stumbled upon your blog 🙂 just wanted to say thanks for sharing the encouraging article. It was enjoyed and appreciated! Blessings and Merry Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

