I Left My Shoes in Salzburg

The hills are alive… With the sound of music! These are the words that filled my head this past Sunday, as our group of 13 took Salzburg by storm. My heart was so flooded with the beauty of the city, I could not resist the urge to take millions of photos. So get ready, because here. they. come.

Do I have to say any words at all? This photo describes the aesthetic Β grace of Salzburg far more eloquently than I ever could. It was taken from Mirabell Gardens, and you can see the castle and cathedral we later toured.

I have a strange fascination… with water of any sort. I’d live under a waterfall if it were at all possible. Even a fountain will do.

If anyone has ever wondered what Β a typical conversation between Maureen and I looks like (or what Daniel goes through to join our conversation), here it is. Laid out with a more dramatic backdrop than typical of say, my dorm room.

Have you heard of the Love Padlock Bridge? Or perhaps seen the photos on Pinterest? Here, lover’s write their names and lock their love into place on the bridge that spans the river through Salzburg.

The fruits of my labor in the previous photo. I now want to come here on my honeymoon… just to do this!

We proceeded to walk around the shops and downtown area of Salzburg. The yellow house you can see behind Jana and Daniel is the house where Mozart lived. How neat is that?

It was love at first sight. Much to my dismay, all the shops close on Sundays. Nonetheless, I was determined to return for my new love. Read on to see how this love story played out.

Next, we toured the GIANT castle you can see in the first photo. Behind me are the Alps, and the exact mountain in this photo is where the final scene of the Sound of Music was filmed. “Climb every mountain…!”

Maureen and I had researched vegan fare in Salzburg and stumbled across the Heart of Joy cafe. I, of course, began my meal with an Americano. It was no Starbucks… It was far better! Pure bliss.

My food was so colorful! Lentils, rice, and a salad. Should I love food this much? Probably nicht.

Maureen ordered the Vegan Apple Cake. The word written on the plate pretty much sums up how it made her feel!

Now, we began our (4 hour) Sound of Music tour. It started out quite fascinating. When I saw the gazebo, I instantly started dreaming of jumping up and down the benches, “I am 16…Going on 17” already running through my mind. When we found out we weren’t allowed in, my dreams were shattered.

Here is the cathedral where Maria and Captain Von Trapp were married in the Sound of Music. An interesting tidbit I learned is that the youngest child actress in the film gained so much weight during filming that Christopher Plummer refused to carry her up the mountain at the end. The “girl” you see is simply a doll! The tour had many fascinating moments, but after 4 hours on a hot, cramped bus, I was feeling quite sick. The soundtrack blaring “CLIMB EVERY MOUNTAIN” didn’t really help my discomfort, oddly. I was quite glad to get myself off the mountain and onto the ground.

We ate some Indian food and hopped on a train back, thus concluding one of the best days of my life. There is one sour note I must add, however. Maureen and I took a return trip to Salzburg Tuesday, I in hopes of retrieving my beloved shoes. Sadly, they had been sold out in just two days!

This is my favorite photo of the day. I like to think it expresses the joy I find from traveling and exploring culture. I can no longer imagine staying in one place for the rest of my life. It scares me that there is so much beauty out there, everywhere, that I might miss. I may be cultivating an addiction.

May you find joy wherever you are. Wayfaring Carrot, out. πŸ™‚

 

9 thoughts on “I Left My Shoes in Salzburg

  1. Sie sind wunderbar! I LOVE your pics! Beautiful! I feel your pain about the shoes, though. They were on sale AND adorable! ……next time. Miss you!

  2. Wow. Everything sounds absolutely amazing! I am beyond jealous that you visited the Lover’s Bridge. I saw that on Pinterest and instantly wanted to go there some day! Also, as a current English major, I must say that your style of writing is captivating. πŸ™‚

  3. Beautiful kidlet! All I can say is all those times of sound of music…. today was more than fate….

  4. So glad you are having such an incredible experience, Cassie! Salzburg is a place I would absolutely LOVE to see! – Even more so now that I have seen your pics! Keep writing! Lauren is right – your writing IS captivating!! I do have to say Lauren is bored silly without you and ready for your return so you can hang out again! πŸ™‚ Hope you continue to have a wonderful time!!!

    • Thanks Tracy! I miss Lauren a lot too… in fact, I just sent out a postcard for her today. {shh…} I hope you have a chance to go to Salzburg… You’d love it! Heck, anyone who likes beauty would love it. haha Thanks for checking out my blog πŸ™‚

  5. reading this entry was like following a whimsical tale, one in which I actually know the main characters πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

